It’s really hard to believe that it is almost October. I can’t help but wonder where the time has gone. It doesn’t seem that it was that long ago we were ringing in the new year, and now it’s nearly three-quarters over.

I’ll save a year-in-review blog for sometime in late December, but looking ahead, it’s hard to believe that it’s almost time to start Christmas shopping, and in fact, some folks have probably already started. I don’t usually get started too awfully early, but I’m by no means a last-minute shopper either.

I have a lot of people I buy for, and I love shopping for the people I love. I get enjoyment just from choosing what their gift will be, wrapping it up, and then giving it to them. It’s easy, though, to get lost in the hustle and bustle that goes with shopping, but I try to start early enough (say October) so that I don’t have to stress myself out so much, and I can keep enjoying everything about the season.

Often we think of how busy all the other seasons are, but the last three months of the year are among the busiest. Between the holidays and activities gearing up at school, time that isn’t scheduled will become very valuable.

The year is almost gone. The last three months of 2011 will fly by, and before you know it, we’ll be ringing in 2012. Take a few minutes each day for yourself. Don’t let yourself become overwhelmed. Enjoy the time, whether it’s a scheduled event or a few minutes to sit in the recliner with a snuggie and a book. Don’t get bogged down in the details. You only have one shot at havingĀ a fulfilling end to 2011. Make it the best.

