Today is a very exciting day for me.

1. Today is the last work day before our spring break. Even though I won’t be taking much of a break, since we’ll spend a couple of days helping Travis move, I’m still looking forward to five days in a row off work. We’ll only have twenty-five school days left when we return, and part of those will be spent in Boston and New York. This time of year can be very exhausting, but a few days off will be just great. It makes it even better that I’ve managed to get a lot of things caught up before the break starts, which leaves me feeling like I can actually breathe and enjoy the break without having to think about a list of things I need to get finished. After a couple of weeks of feeling like I’d never get caught up, it’s nice to be caught up. It’ll make the break that much better.

2. My wonderful husband is celebrating his birthday today. I won’t divulge which birthday it is, but I’m so thankful he is a part of this world, and more importantly, I’m so thankful he is a part of my life. He is good to me and to my children, and he is great with my family; I couldn’t ask for more than that. He is the most unselfish person I know. We are all very lucky to have him in our lives. I hope he has the best birthday ever.

3. Today is the day we find out what my grandbaby is. As I’m initially writing this, I haven’t yet found out. If I find out before I publish, I’ll let you in on it. We really don’t care if it’s a boy or a girl; we just want a healthy baby. But it’s still exciting to be able to find out. It will make planning for the baby’s arrival much easier, though I managed to plan for all of my babies, and I didn’t know whether I was getting a boy or a girl until they got here. At that point in time, I enjoyed the anticipation of waiting to find out; my patience has dwindled a lot over the years. I think that given the option now, I would have asked to know. It’s kind of funny how we change over time. I’m definitely looking forward to finding out whether we’ll have another little boy or little girl to spoil.

Today was an easy day to figure out what is making me happy and what I’m looking forward to. Other days, it’s a bit more difficult. What I need to do is always take a step back, and on those days where it is a bit more difficult, I need to find what makes me happy. As long as we can keep focused on the positive, happy things, it’ll all be good. Sometimes we just need to work on it a little more than at others.